Being found guilty of an illegal weapon possession is a serious offense that needs to be discussed with a qualified criminal defense attorney. Penalties vary depending on the severity of the crime but can lead up to a maximum of 20 years in prison for possession of a weapon by a convicted felon. Don’t leave your situation to chance – let an award-winning attorney guide you through the complexities of Florida’s court system.
Per Florida Statute 790.06, in certain instances you are allowed to carry a gun in your car if you have a concealed weapon license. It is also legal to carry a firearm in your vehicle in other circumstances, such going or returning from hunting, fishing or camping.
Some of the charges that we handle, including but not excluded to:
• Use of a deadly weapon during a crime
• Illegal sale of a firearm
• Convicted felon in possession of a firearm
• Improper exhibition/brandishing of a firearm
• Carrying a concealed weapon without a license
Penalties as defined and described in Florida Statutes 790.01, 790.23 and Chapter 790.
It is illegal for a person to possess or have custody of any ammunition, firearm, electric weapon or device, or carry concealed if that person has been convicted of a felony.
A convicted felon with possession of a weapon – Is a felony of the second-degree, punishable by 15 years in prison.
Unlicensed carrying of a firearm – Is a felony of the third degree, with a punishment of up to 5 years in prison.
Discharging a firearm in a public or residential place – Statute 790.15 – Is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by up to a year in prison and up to a $1,000 fine. This does not apply if the person is lawfully defending their life. However, if fired from a vehicle, within 1000 ft of any person, it is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
Brandishing or improper exhibition of a firearm – Florida Statute 790.10 – Is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by up to a year in prison and up to a $1,000 fine.